World football governing body FIFA has confirmed that two of the selected venues for the FIFA World Cup Qatar holding in 2022 will be used for the FIFA Club World Cup games next month. While football fans around the world are still patiently waiting for the prestigious tournament to take place, they have decided to first partake in another international tournament that will involve clubs this time around.

The 2020 FIFA Club World Cup Qatar is set to take place from the 4th day of February to the 11th day of the same month this year in Doha. And the Qatar News Agency (QNA) has also moved swiftly to confirm the reports of the two Stadiums that will be used.
Qatar hosting the global club competition means that they will now be doing so for the second year running as the country continues to put things in place in preparation for the grand tournament which will kick off two years from now.

The two Stadiums that have been confirmed to be used for the competition are the Education City Stadium and the Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, which saw its inauguration ceremony take place on the 18th of December last year. It was also a period when it oversaw the hosting of the final of The Amir Cup (the 48th edition).

The club representing the host country (Qatar), Al-Duhail Club will be pitted against other clubs that emerged as Champions in the Champions League in five of the six continental federations for the tournament. The teams involved will play a total number of seven games which will provide the winner of the competition’s 17th edition.

The teams to participate in the tournament are as follows:

  1. Al-Ahly (African Champions)
  2. Bayern Munich (European Champions)
  3. Ulsan Hyundai (Asian Champions)
  4. Tigres UANL (Champions of the Confederation of North America, Central, and the Caribbean – CONCACAF).

January 30 will see the emergence of South American Champions who will then be added to the list. Auckland City who are representing Oceania have denounced their participation following travel restrictions placed by the New Zealand government.